• img-book
    Have You Seen My Monster? by: Steve Light

    In a follow-up to Steve Light’s highly praised Have You Seen My Dragon?, the county fair is filled with shapes—and somewhere among them a monster is waiting to be found.
    A little girl gallivants through a county fair, searching for her furry friend. Readers will surely spot the friendly monster as well as twenty shapes, identified here by their proper names—trapezoids, ellipses, kites, and more—hidden among iconic fair attractions from the fun house to the Ferris wheel. Maybe the monster is judging the pies? Or perhaps he’s at the monster-truck rally? Youngsters will be so mesmerized by Steve Light’s masterful pen-and-ink illustrations, decorated with vivid splashes of color, they won’t even realize they’ve learned how to spot a nonagon while looking for a monster.

  • img-book
    The Invisible Bridge by: Orringer Juli

    Paris, 1937. Andras Lévi, an architecture student, has arrived from Budapest with a scholarship, a single suitcase, and a mysterious letter he has promised to deliver to Clara Morgenstern a young widow living in the city. When Andras meets Clara he is drawn deeply into her extraordinary and secret life, just as Europe’s unfolding tragedy sends them both into a state of terrifying uncertainty.

  • img-book
    Crime fiction by: Scaggs John

    Crime Fiction presents a digestible yet highly informative and intricate analysis of the genre. It is a valuable resourse for mystery and detective aficionados in addition to scholars’

  • img-book
    Untouchable by: Anand Mulk Raj

    Bakha is viewed as an untouchable by the residents of his Indian village, and he spends his day cleaning latrines and trying to find his place in a society that considers him inferior.

  • img-book
    The Turner house : a novel by: Flournoy Angela

    For over fifty years the Turners have lived on Yarrow Street. Their house has seen thirteen children get grown and gone and some return; it has seen the arrival of grandchildren, the fall of Detroit s East Side, and the loss of a father. But when their powerful mother falls ill, the Turners are called home to decide their house s fate and to reckon with how their past haunts and shapes their future. The Turner House is a striking examination of the price we pay for our dreams, and the ways in which our families bring us home.

  • img-book
    Did you ever have a family by: Clegg Bil

    On the morning of her daughter’s wedding, June Reid’s house goes up in flames, destroying her entire family – her present, her past and her future. Fleeing from the carnage, stricken and alone, June finds herself in a motel room by the ocean, hundreds of miles from her Connecticut home, held captive by memories and the mistakes she has made with her only child, Lolly, and her partner, Luke.

  • img-book
    The painted drum by: Erdrich, Louise

    When a woman named Faye Travers is called upon to appraise the estate of a family in her small New Hampshire town, she isn’t surprised to discover a forgotten cache of valuable Native American artifacts. After all, the family descends from an Indian agent who worked on the North Dakota Ojibwe reservation that is home to her mother’s family. However, she stops dead in her tracks when she finds in the collection a rare drumba powerful yet delicate object, made from a massive moose skin stretched across a hollow of cedar, ornamented with symbols she doesn’t recognize and dressed in red tassels and a beaded belt and skirtbespecially since, without touching the instrument, she hears it sound. And so begins an illuminating journey both backward and forward in time, following the strange passage of a powerful yet delicate instrument, and revealing the extraordinary lives it has touched and defined.

  • img-book
    Blue nights by: Didion Joan

    Richly textured with memories from her own childhood and married life with her husband, John Gregory Dunne, and daughter, Quintana Roo, this new book by Joan Didion is an intensely personal and moving account of her thoughts, fears, and doubts regarding having children, illness and growing old.

  • img-book
    The New York trilogy : City of glass, Ghosts, The locked room by: Auster Paul

    The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America’s most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader.

  • img-book
    Their eyes were God by: Zora neale, hurston,

    bA deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who donbt know how to live properly.b bZadie Smith

    One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty yearsbdue largely to initial audiencesb rejection of its strong black female protagonistbHurstonbs classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.